Thursday, April 24, 2014

Cover Reveal: The Night Belongs to Fireman


The Night Belongs to Fireman
The Bachelor Firemen of San Gabriel #6
By: Jennifer Bernard
Releasing Sept 30th, 2014

Blurb  


Daring . . . Sexy . . . Irresistible . . .
They're the Bachelor Firemen of San Gabriel
When fireman Fred Breen rescues a bachelorette party after a construction crane collapses onto their limo, the media labels him the "Bachelor Hero." But all Fred can think about is the petite brunette with the sexy mane of dark curls who bolted away from him faster than a wildfire after he carried her to safety. And when he discovers she's none other than Rachel Kessler, the daughter of a tech billionaire, the girl whose kidnapping riveted the nation, he intends to learn every intimate detail about this intriguing woman who sets his pulse on fire.
Rachel can't deny the lean-muscled firefighter is smokin' hot. But after having one too many drinks at the bar where she first meets him, Rachel knows she's made a fool of herself. Yet when he rescues her from the limo, she feels safe for the first time since she was held for ransom as a child. Then her overprotective father insists Fred be her bodyguard—and his close presence kindles a burning desire that only he can extinguish.


Follow the tour!



Pre-Buy Links


Author Info  

Jennifer Bernard is a graduate of Harvard and a former news promo producer. The child of academics, she confounded her family by preferring romance novels to … well, any other books. She left big city life for true love in Alaska, where she now lives with her husband and stepdaughters. She’s no stranger to book success, as she also writes erotic novellas under a naughty secret name not to be mentioned at family gatherings.
Visit her on the Web at www.JenniferBernard.net
Author Links

Giveaway  (Kindle Fire HD and Firemen Goodies)

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Cover Reveal: Guarded Hearts

GH ebook cover
Title: Guarding Hearts
Series: Living Again #3
Author: L.L. Collins
Release Date: May 23, 2014
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Synopsis
Ellis Warner is a police officer, everyone’s friend and every girl’s fantasy- funny, dedicated, and too good looking for his own good. Thanks to a childhood he would rather forget and a young adulthood riddled with mistakes, he knows that no one can ever find out who he really is. He lives his life pretending to be the guy everyone sees on the outside. The one thing he knows for sure is that he can’t be serious with anyone. When he takes a second job as security for a new country star coming into town, he has no idea how that one decision will change his entire life and expose everything he has worked so hard to bury. Samantha Kerrigan won a nationwide contest that immediately forces her into the spotlight. Her dreams of being a successful country singer have come true, but dreams always come with a price. While going out on her first tour, a stalker’s advances threaten her safety, forcing her team to hire more protection. The second she meets Ellis, she knows there’s something about him and immediately makes him her private bodyguard. But he’s determined just to do his job, and she’s determined to make him open up. When her life is threatened and his secrets are exposed, will Ellis be able to guard Sam from danger, and his heart from her?
GH Full Cover
44b38-addtogoodreads
GH Teaser 2
About the Author
LL Collins
LL Collins is a teacher who loves spending her days in the Florida sun with her husband and boys, reading, and writing. Her love of writing has found a home in the self-publishing world. Living Again and Reaching Rachel are available on Amazon Barnes & Noble, Kobo and iBooks, in both eBook and paperback and Guarding Hearts is releasing in May. LL has been writing since she was old enough to write. Always a story in her head, she finally decided to let the characters out and start writing and try to make her lifelong dreams of becoming an author come true. She has been a teacher for over ten years, a wife for 14, and a mom to two boys, 12 and 10.
GH Teaser 1
Purchase Her Other Books Today
Living Again Cover
Reaching_Rachel_cover
Print

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

A Promise Of More Spotlight





A PROMISE OF MORE: The Disgraced Lords Series
A Loveswept Historical Romance
Written by Bronwen Evans
April 15, 2014


Blurb  

In the second novel in Bronwen Evans’s sexy new Disgraced Lords series, two very independent souls find themselves fighting to resist a deepening passion.
When Beatrice Hennessey sets out to confront Lord Coldhurst, the notorious rogue who killed her brother in a duel, her intent is to save her family from destitution. She’s determined to blackmail the man into a loveless marriage. She’ll make the wealthy Lord Coldhurst pay for the rest of his life. But while greeting his ship, Beatrice takes a tumble into the Thames—only to be fished out by a pair of strong masculine arms that tempt her to stay locked in their heated embrace forever. That is, until she realizes those arms belong to Sebastian Hawkestone, Lord Coldhurst himself.
The little drowned mermaid has an interesting proposition indeed; one that Sebastian is surprised to find quite agreeable. Although he’s had women more beautiful, she is pleasing to the eye, and besides, it’s time he fathered an heir. Beatrice promises to be the ideal wife; a woman who hates him with an all-consuming passion is far too sensible to expect romance. However, it isn’t long before Sebastian’s plan for a marriage of convenience unravels, and he’s caught up in the exhilarating undertow of seduction.


Buy Links

Author Info
Bronwen Evans grew up loving books. She has always indulged her love of storytelling and is constantly gobbling up movies, books, and theater. Is it any wonder she’s a proud romance writer? Evans is a two-time winner of the RomCon Readers’ Crown and has been nominated for an RT Reviewers’ Choice Award. She lives in Wellington, New Zealand.
Connect with Bronwen Evans: Facebook | Twitter | Website


Rafflecopter Giveaway (Grand Prize - $25 egiftcard and a copy of A KISS OF LIES ebook retailer of choice and 3 First Prize bundles - A KISS OF LIES and A PROMISE OF MORE from your ebook retailer of choice)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, April 21, 2014

VBT Review: Just One Night






JUST ONE NIGHT: Sex, Love and Stiletto SeriesWritten by Lauren Layne
Published by Loveswept
ISBN: 978-0-34554727-9
On sale: April 22nd, 2014

Blurb  


New York’s hottest “sexpert” has been living a lie—and it’s up to one man to keep her honest . . . all night long.
Riley McKenna knows sex – good sex, bad sex, kinky sex…Her articles in Stiletto magazine are consistently the publication’s most scandalous—and the most read. But Riley has a secret…all that sexy talk? Not an ounce of it comes from personal experience. Her own bedroom escapades are more limited than even her best friends know. When her editor requests that all columnists write something more personal for Stiletto’s anniversary issue, Riley turns to the one man she’s always been able to count on and calls in the favor of a lifetime.
Sam Compton would do anything for Riley McKenna. Anything except be her experimental sex toy. He refuses her request. At least until she tells him that it’ll either be him or she’ll go to someone else. And that, Sam can’t accept. Reluctantly he agrees to her terms—one night of completely meaningless sex in the name of research. Riley thinks she’s prepared for what awaits her in Sam’s bed.  After ten years of writing about sex, actually doing it shouldn’t be that different, right? So wrong. What starts as “one time only” becomes “just one more time.” And then one more. And before they know it, Riley and Sam learn first-hand that when it comes to love, there’s no such thing as just one night.


Review Rating: 4 LIGHTNING BOLTS

Review: You can only get away with living a lie for so long. Riley McKenna writes about sex. Her readers assume she lives the life that she writes about. Oh, wrong, wrong wrong....and now, it's time to face up to the truth. Oh! And let's not forget she's got a thing for her best friend Sam, and he has a thing for her, but they both skirt around it, thinking it could never be. Until Riley propositions him. Still, the denial, the pushing away...it's still there.

Lauren Layne has a way with words! Witty, funny, zingy and I couldn't help but laugh! Her stories are light and full of feel good moments, emotions and sometimes, anger (Certain characters...Sam's mom, for one. Grr)  

I loved watching Sam and Riley finally give in and tell each other how they feel. I felt for Sam. His family..well his mom, she really made me angry and upset me.  I loved Riley's family.  This is a great story that really pulls on the heartstrings and makes you laugh out loud and have others look at you like you're kinda crazy. I'm okay with that one...

All in all, I had a blast with this book and I need to snap up the others in this series! 


Buy Links



Author Info
Lauren Layne graduated from Santa Clara University with a B.S. in political science that she has yet to put to good use. After dabbling in an e-commerce career in Seattle and Southern California, Layne moved to New York City, where she now writes full-time. She lives with her husband and their plus-size pomeranian in a tiny Manhattan studio.
Connect with Lauren: Facebook | Twitter | Website

Author links

Rafflecopter Giveaway (Lauren Layne Prize Pack with: Review Copies of Stiletto Series, Loveswept Tote and Mug or $15.00 E-Retailer Gift Card of Winner’s Choosing )

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Release Blast Spotlight: Finding Her Dream






BLURB: 

It wasn't until she watched her best friend find the man of her dreams that RayAnne Hill realizes there's a part of her missing. She knows the empty space can only be filled by finding her own true love, complete with kids and the white picket fence. Fear of letting someone in stops her cold, and it's much bigger than just finding Mr. Right. 

James Shaw moved away from Kentucky and the family business to chase his own goals, settling in the small town of Kimmswick, Missouri. His business is succeeding, now he's ready to complete his life with a wife and kids. One night, one look and he's found her. RayAnne is everything he's been searching for. 

As hard as James has fallen for RayAnne, can he be enough to help her overcome her worst nightmare? Or will he decide he can't wait forever, and walk away to find happiness?
Buy Links: 



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, April 18, 2014

New Release: Hypnotized by Lacey Wolfe






Hypnotized
A new adult romance by Lacey Wolfe
Paisley 
I’m discovering who I am in this world. Venturing out on my own, away from my parents, and finding out what life is really all about. College isn’t as easy as I thought it would be, especially with my best friend Evan becoming someone I hardly recognize.
But then I met Gabe. He changed everything. My life will never be the same.
Gabe
I lived my life day to day, waiting for something great to happen. 
Then she walked into the coffee house, with her long legs and killer smile. I had to know her. Nothing was going to stop me. She hypnotized me from the moment I laid eyes on her.
And after the first kiss, my fate was sealed to Paisley.

Content Warning: This book is recommended for ages 17 and up. Adult situations, including sex, underage drinking, and drugs will be found within these pages.

Buy Links – coming in a separate email once it’s live.



Excerpt 
Kristy and I found ourselves a corner. I sipped a little more of my beer, finally getting the bottle a little more than halfway gone. Nursing the drink probably wasn’t the best idea, but as long as I kept this in my hand, I didn’t feel like such a loser. Maybe my friends were right. It was time to quit taking the easy route. I needed to have fun.
Who is that hot guy? I think he’s checking you out.” Kristy poked my side.
I followed her gaze. Gabe.
Go talk to him.” She pushed me.
I, uh, I already did.”
Her eyes lit up. “Seriously? Well, who is he?”
I shrugged. “I met him before work at a coffee shop. He stared at me the whole time. Then tonight, when he got here, he watched me like he is now.” I should feel self conscious, but I didn’t. “As I waited for you, he came and talked to me, but Evan chased him away. To be honest, he’s freaking me out a little.” Kind of, but he intrigued me so much more.
He can’t keep his eyes off of you.”
She was right. Even as he spoke to the guy with him, his eyes never left me. My heart raced. I honestly didn’t know what to think. It wasn’t like I’d never dated before. I’d had a few boyfriends in high school, but nothing serious.
Go talk to him,” Kristy pressed.
Who?” Evan showed up at just the right time. Go figure.
No one,” I said quickly.
She’s being silly. That guy.” Kristy pointed. Great, now he knew we were talking about him.
She needs to stay away from him.” Evan put his arm around me again, only now he put a little more weight against me. If I didn’t think he’d fall, I’d have moved.
Kristy stared at Evan’s arm a moment then asked, “Why? He’s hot.”
I don’t know. But my roommate says he’s trouble.”
Of course he was. He parked his bike wherever he wanted. “I need to use the restroom. Hold my drink.” I handed it to Kristy.
I wandered around the house. It was two stories, surely they had a restroom down here, but I didn’t find one. I headed up the creaky stairs. Sounds of groaning welcomed me at the top, making me giggle. Some people were having a lot of fun.
After using the restroom, I checked my appearance in the mirror. I turned by head back and forth. Maybe I did need to let my hair down. Tugging the elastic out, I let my long locks fall over my shoulder. I fluffed it with my fingers. The crease wasn’t so bad, and besides, more than half the people here were drunk. They weren’t going to care how my hair appeared.
I left the bathroom and stopped in my tracks. Leaning against the opposite wall was Gabe.
Uh, hey again.” I grinned awkwardly.
Having a good time?”
I guess.”
A girl walked up wobbly, holding the wall the whole way. She pushed me out of the way, slamming the bathroom door. Now I stood close to him. Near enough I could touch him if I wanted.
You sure that guy isn’t your boyfriend?”
I nodded. “Positive.”
He comes across like he is.” His blue eyes bore in to mine.
Well, he isn’t. Why would I lie?”
He shrugged. “Walk with me.”
I glanced around. We were upstairs, and there wasn’t anywhere to go. I knew once I went down stairs and Evan saw, he’d stop us. “It’s not a good idea.”
Why?”
I leaned closer to him, inhaling his intoxicating scent and said, “From what I hear, I should stay away from you.”
He chuckled. “Is that so? And what do you think?”
I think I should see where he wants to take me, but I didn’t say that. “I don’t know you.”
Then get to know me. Come on. One little walk. What could go wrong?”
The bathroom door opened and the drunk girl reemerged. “Awesome party!”
I laughed and watched as she concentrated on walking. Poor girl. I hoped she made it down the stairs.
So?” He raised an eyebrow.
It was tempting. Take a walk with him, talk, get to know him, and find out why everyone thought he was trouble. “I think I’m going to pass.”
The cutest smirk I’d ever seen appeared on his face. “Paisley, you’re really going to make me work, aren’t you?”
The sound of my name on his lips was like music. “How did you know my name?” That was stupid, he could’ve asked someone.
From the coffee shop when you got a drink.”
Oh, yeah.”
He reached out and brushed a lock of hair from my face. My breath caught when his fingers lightly touched my skin, and I swear every nerve was on end.
I like a good challenge.” He walked away, leaving me standing there, speechless.


Review Rating: 4 LIGHTNING BOLTS

Review:  Paisley is a shy girl, not in the party scene and just turned 18. She's just learning to spread her wings, get her own place, and live a little. Her best friend Evan has had his highs and lows, and her friend Kristy keeps convincing her to liven up a little and party....

Hypnotized is the story of first loves. Paisley is a good character, and there were many ways I could see a younger version of myself in her. I like that she doesn't fully give into the pressure of parties and other things.  

She meets Gabe, who seems to have a bit of a reputation, but as we learn more about him, readers see that he's so much more. He helps Paisley to "live a little" but not in a crazy way. At first, they try to stay away from the other, but stronger feelings take over.

Hypnotized is about first loves, finding yourself, and new chances. It's light, easy, and flows well and just what I needed. I do hope there's more stories coming within these characters so we can learn about the secondary characters that played a role in this book. 




About Lacey Wolfe
Lacey Wolfe has always had a passion for words, whether it’s getting lost in a book or writing her own. From the time she was a child she would slip away to write short stories about people she knew and fantasies she wished would happen. It has always been her dream to be a published author and with her two children now of school age, she finally has the time to work on making her dream come true.

Lacey lives in Georgia with her husband, son and daughter, their six cats and one black lab who rules the house.

You can find Lacey at the following places:
Website / The Wolfe Pack Group / Facebook / Facebook Page / Twitter / Pinterest






Thursday, April 17, 2014

VBT: Interview and Review: Line Drive




I love bringing new authors on the blog, and today, I have a debut author for you all. Please help me welcome Erin Lindsey Maurer to the blog for an interview, and I'm reviewing her very first book, Line Drive. Show some love y'all!



Tell me about yourself, and your writing.

As much as I love to talk, I never really like to talk about myself. I've been making up stories my entire life. I used to write books to read to my brother while I forced him to play school. In high school and college, I mostly stuck to poetry. I had a block on writing a book for the longest time, even though it was a dream.

Outside of writing, I'm a nanny and avid crocheter. I'm a furkid mom to a rascally poodle-mix named Jordan, three cats: Ziggy, Spencer and Luna and a guinea pig named Dexter. I love country music, Motown, Oldies and classic rock. I dream of being a good gardener. I want to become a teacher. My wife and I are also in the process of launching a line of custom dog treats.

How long have you been writing? How many published books do you have, and what genres?

I know I learned how to read when I four. I imagine the writing started not too long after that.  I honestly can't remember a time in my life when I didn't write. I have dreamed of publishing a book for the longest time, but I couldn't get past my own mental block. Last year, I finally just started writing. Line Drive  is my first sports romance, and the first in my Philadelphia Liberty series.

Do you write in multiple genres or just one? If just one, do you ever consider straying outside your genre?

Right now, I've only written sports romance. However, I do have plans for a historical romance series. I'd love to write paranormal, but I'm not sure I can do it justice. No matter what the future holds, I'm sure my stories will also have a love story.

Are you a plotter or do you write from the seat of your pants?

I try to come up with a rough outline. From there, I let the characters tell me their stories. So, I guess a little of both.

What is a typical writing day like for you?

There is no typical day. I have a full-time nanny job that tends to dictate my schedule. Sometimes, I start my mornings off at a cafe, sipping chai tea and writing in my notebook. Other times, my laptop and I spend hours curled up in my favorite recliner, with a blanket of course.

Who do you love to read? Favorite authors, favorite books?

So many, I rarely meet a love story I don't like. Currently, I'm filling my Kindle with Karpov Kinrade, Patti Larsen, S.L. Scott, Daisy Prescott, Jami Davenport, Nikki Worrell, Edie Ramer, Brenda Novak, and Zoe Dawson. I'm also highly anticipating the second release from Tasman Gibb.

What is something you'd like to accomplish in your writing career next year?

Continue to grow the Philadelphia Liberty series. Hopefully launch my Liberty Belles series.

If you could have one paranormal ability, what would it be?

I always say my X-men power is the ability to know the words to songs I haven't heard before. But, I think it would be awesome to be a shapeshifter...or a witch.

If you could keep a mythical/ paranormal creature as a pet, what would you have?

Hmmmmm....I don't think anyone has ever asked me this before. I always wanted an owl, a la Harry Potter. A talking cat would be too much fun.

Tell us a little about your latest release.

Line Drive is the first installment in the Philadelphia Liberty series. This story follows Mattie Duvall, the Liberty's new outfielder, as he tumbles into love with Ashlynn Davis. Mattie is under a lot of pressure, with duties to the team, his past and his family's bakery pulling him in multiple directions. Ashlynn is on the brink of making her dreams come true and not really looking for love. Still, it smacks them and won't let go. Can the two overcome their own baggage in order to hold on to happiness?


What is something that you absolutely can't live without? (Other than family members) I'm counting my furkids as family members, so...Yarn. I'm crochet-obsessed.

Could you ever co author a book with someone? If so, who would you choose, and what would you write?

I would love to have Patti Larsen help me craft a witchy world.

If you could spend a day with anyone from history, dead or alive, who would it be, and what would you do? What would you ask them?

Hmmm...probably Martin Luther King, Jr. I have an obsession with the Civil Rights Movement. I just don't understand why it had to be a movement at all. Shouldn't basic rights be guaranteed to every human? I'd love to pick his brain.

What are some of your other hobbies outside of writing?

Crochet, photography, hiking, baking and always READING.

What is something you've always wanted to do, but haven't done yet. Why not?

Get my teaching certification. I'm slowly working on checking off my bucket list, making my dreams come true. I plan on going to speak to some local colleges this summer to find out how to become a teacher.

If you were on the staff to have a book adapted to movie, what would you pick?

Brenda Novak's Whiskey Creek series would make excellent movies. So would Daisy Prescott's Geoducks are for Lovers and Ready to Fall.

What is a talent you wish you had, but don't?

Musicality or athletic ability. I'm tone deaf and a total klutz.

             Favorite color?

Green, with purple a close second.

Weather: Hot or cold?

Cold. My wife always tells me I'm like Linus. I'm not comfortable unless I am curled up under a blanket. I prefer a little chill in the air to make the blanket necessary.

Favorite place to read?

My bed.

Favorite meal

Fresh fajitas and margaritas.

Favorite non-alcoholic drink.

Chai Tea

If you could travel anywhere and do anything, no limits or money holding you back, where would you go?

Hogwarts. But as far as the real world, I want to explore all 50 states and the British Isles.




Line Drive  
A Philadelphia Liberty Romance
By: Erin Lindsey Maurer

Blurb
Mattie Duvall is just starting to rediscover his dreams. Signing with the minor league Philadelphia Liberty gives him a second shot at playing professional baseball. What he didn’t expect was to fall for the cider-haired pixie haunting his dreams. Ashlynn Davis isn’t looking for love. She’s busy chasing down her own big dream: finding a way to use her cooking skills to give back to Philadelphia’s less fortunate. The two cannot deny their mutual attraction, or that they’re heading rapidly towards that four letter word they thought they’d never say: LOVE. When secrets from Mattie’s past bubble to the surface, Ashlynn begins to question her position in his life. Can the two put the past behind them in time to race toward a future together? Or is love destined to play second fiddle to big dreams and even bigger secrets?






Review Rating:  4 LIGHTNING BOLTS



Review: Sometimes, dreams come true later in life. You might have to go through hell and back to find them, but when they happen at the time they do, maybe it's for a reason.

Mattie's dreams are finally becoming a reality. What he doesn't realize is another thing hidden behind his dream- finding love. Something he's been closed off to for years after a painful event in his past. But Ashlynn does things to him in ways he never imagined. A friendship blossoms and turns into something more.  But when it's time to face the past, what happens? Is love going to be enough?

Line Drive is a reader's introduction to debut author Erin Lindsey Maurer. I enjoy a good romance with a sports hero or heroine and Line Drive had a great feel to it. The story takes us in the point of views for both Ashlynn and Mattie. I loved their banter. Mattie is a great guy. He finally has things going for him, and he's caring, thinks about others and he has a decision he needs to make that many might easily walk away from with no looking back. Ashlynn is a great heroine, I love that she enjoys giving to the community. I think these two are perfect for each other I got a great feel for these characters and it was easy to relate to them, making them likable and real to me.  The secondary characters were also a treat. I found myself turning the pages, immersed in the story and wanting to know what was next for this couple.  I can't wait to see where the author goes with the Philadelphia Liberty series, and hopefully get a peek on how Ashlynn and Mattie are doing, too.  I recommend this story to fans of contemporary romance that enjoy a bit of sports mixed in, along with a good emotionally engaging book. 

Author Info  
Erin Lindsey Maurer grew up surrounded by stories. She made up stories about well everything and often got caught reading under her covers with a flashlight. Today, she is still cooking up tales, with a spicier spin. Line Drive is the first title in her Philadelphia Liberty series, celebrating the boys of baseball and the women they love. 
Author Links






Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00JO1GJYM 

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/428786 a Rafflecopter giveaway